Playscape Recordings PSR#J050601

View Tracks and Listen

  1. A Sleepin' Bee . . (Harold Arlen/Truman Capote)
  2. Eye On Monk . . (Ted Rosenthal)
  3. Madeiran Nights..(Ted Rosenthal)
  4. Let's Cool One . . (Thelonious Monk)
  5. Forever Young . . (Ted Rosenthal)
  6. New Theme . . (Ted Rosenthal)
  7. Let's Call The Whole Thing Off . . (George Gershwin/Ira Gershwin)
  8. Sisters. . (Ted Rosenthal)
  9. Back Up. . (Ted Rosenthal)

Available at:

  • Buy from
  • Order from iTunes
  • Order from Playscape Recordings
  • Order Direct
  • To order CDs (signed on request): Send a check or money order for $20 each, $25 for foreign orders, (includes shipping) to:
    Ted Rosenthal
    504 West 111th Street, #36
    New York, NY 10025

ThreePlay, on Playscape Recordings, features Dennis Irwin on bass and Matt Wilson on drums. This highly interactive yet swinging trio present a varied program of Rosenthal originals as well as his personal treatments (derangements) of "A Sleepin' Bee", "Let's Call The Whole Thing Off" and "Let's Cool One". The focus on Rosenthal's original compositions adds special interest to the CD. His lyrical moods show through on "Madeiran Nights" and "Forever Young" while influences of Monk and Tristano reveal themselves on the quirky "Eye On Monk" and the highly charged "Back Up". The rich variety of material performed with swinging abandon and sensitive lyricism gives ThreePlay an unusually wide scope.